APC NEC appoints new national chairman

The National Executive Council (NEC) of the All Progressives Congress (APC) led by President Muhammadu Buhari, has dissolved the National Working Committee (NWC) of the party, and appointed the governor of Yobe State, Mai Mala Buni as the new caretaker committee chairman.

A statement by Femi Adesina, special adviser to President Muhammadu Buhari in media and publicity, said the emergency NEC meeting adopted all the recommendations by President Buhari, and appointed Governor Mai Buni, as Caretaker National Chairman, while Senator John Akpanudoede was designated Caretaker National Secretary.

Buni was also appointed as the Others are Dr. James Lalu, representing the physically challenged, Senator Abubakar Yusuf, representing the Senate, Hon Akinyemi Olaide, representing the House of Representatives, and David Luon, who will be representing the South South geopolitical zone.

Also appointed into the committee were:
ABBA Ari, North West
Prof. Tahir Mamman, North East
Ismail Ahmed, representing youths

Senator Akpan Udoedehe is to serve as secretary.

 Caretaker Chairman and chair of an Extraordinary Convention to be held at a leter date.

Aside Governor Buni, other members of the caretaker committee and extraordinary convention planning committee are Governor Isiaka Oyetola of Osun State, former Senate President, Ken Nnamani, Stella Okorete and Governor Sani Bello of Niger State.